Consecration: Remembrance (2018)

Written by: Kev Rowland

Consecration have recently signed an agreement with Imperative PR, and as part of that, this collection has been put together to celebrate the first eight years of their existence. Tracks 01-08 originally appeared on the ‘Ephemerality’ album, released 2014, tracks 09-12 are previously unreleased 2011 demo recordings, while tracks 13-18 appeared in their original form on the 2010 EP ‘Gut The Priest’. All tracks have been restored and remastered for this compilation. The band hails from East Anglia, the part of the UK most often associated with witchcraft, and these guys have taken the foreboding and melded into their doom to create something that is raw, palpable and evil.

This isn’t the pleasant style of doom that one associates with the likes of Black Sabbath, but instead it is raw, and almost hurtful in its aggression and intensity. There are times when it feels as if an abrasive Black Metal band, or even a Death Metal act, have decided to slow it down and make it much, much heavier. I have listened to quite a lot of slower styles over the years, doom, stoner, sludge, but none of it has ever had the rawness and sheer aggression of this. This music is definitely not for the fainthearted, and those who may normally avoid this genre as they feel it is just heavy music played at funeral pace ought to think again. At well over two hours in length, this is definitely worth investigating.

Rating: 7/10


Track list:
1. In Decayed Embrace
2. Buried Alive
3. Echoes Of The Dead
4. The Visitant
5. The Summoning Of Sufferance
6. Purity Through Pain
7. Inviting The Impure
8. Thy Requiem Lament
9. The Darkening (Unreleased Demo)
10. Persecution Dominion (Unreleased Demo)
11. Inviting The Impure (Unreleased Original Demo Version)
12. Horse
13. The Vine
14. Consecration
15. Gut The Priest
16. The Ever Dying
17. Cast Down For The Burning
18. The Vine (Reprise)



Sharing is Caring

Related posts