Cold Snap: All Our Sins (2018)

Written by: Kev Rowland

Croatian six-piece Cold Snap have been around for some 15 years, and this is actually their fourth full-length release, somewhat interestingly on their fourth record label. But, now that they are on Arising Empire they are going to get the support that comes with being signed into the Nuclear Blast family I am sure that many more people are going to be hearing about them. This is the third consecutive release where they have gone into the studio with Tuc Madsen (At The Gates, Meshuggah and so many others) and he has certainly capture the heaviness that one would expect from a band that are melding nu-metal and groove so that they come across as a mix of Lamb of God, Whitechapel, Sepultura and Pantera.

This is ferocious stuff, and the use of two vocalists with different styles isn’t exactly new, but it certainly works for them with both being very aggressive, but one in a much lower register, almost getting down to death level, but not quite. The only way to hear the noise is when it’s good and loud, and that is certainly the case with Cold Snap as the more you turn it up, then the more it just makes total sense. They mess about with tempos here and there, but the twin guitarists and bassist are locked in as one, which gives them an incredibly powerful approach. There isn’t much room for counter melodies and intricacies here, it is all about plugging in, turning it up, and losing all the dandruff. They even bring in blast beats when they feel the time is right! There is nothing subtle about, they lock in and find the groove, then meet you at the end in a puddle of sweat. Solid.

Rating: 6/10


Track list:
1. Hešto And Pujto
2. Fallen Angels
3. Nothing
4. Demons
5. Crawling
6. Remission
7. 2 4 The System
8. Witness Of Your Sickness
9. No We’re Not Even
10. Pain Parade
11. Hated
12. Distance



Sharing is Caring

Related posts