Within The Giant’s Reach: In the Beginning (2018)

Written by: Kev Rowland

This is the debut EP from San Antonio-based Within The Giant’s Reach, six songs some 25 minutes in length. Musically these guys are very heavy, moving in and out of groove metal, thrash, nu-metal and others, mixing and moving around as if they can’t work out if they are Slipknot, Lamb of God, Killswitch Engage, Fear Factory, Whitechapel, Meshuggah or something else altogether. The aggression is palpable, but I do have some problems with the overall sound, in that the prevalent guitar is quite high in the mix, and as that sound is actually quite annoying (at least to me), it definitely detracts from the EP as a whole. They have tried some different things with the production, and it definitely doesn’t come across as a self-release, but overall this isn’t really for me.

Rating: 4/10


1. The Summit
2. Faceless
3. Rise
4. Collapse Rebuild
5. Scars
6. Same Blood



Sharing is Caring

Related posts