’77: Bright Gloom (2018)

Written by: Kev Rowland

Formed in Barcelona, Spain in 2006 by brothers LG Valeta and Armand Valeta as a tribute to the release, subsequent longevity and relevance of AC/DC’s ‘Let There Be Rock’, ‘77 refers directly to the year 1977. Their love of everything from the Seventies is clearly plain on this album, which was recorded live in the studio and onto tape. An early fascination with AC/DC has evolved into an adoration for The Who, Black Sabbath, The Stooges, MC5, Thin Lizzy, Slade, and a host of others and they have tried to bring all that into their music which has an incredibly rich and fat sound. Just goes to show what can happen if all of the music is captured – I just wish I was playing this on vinyl to get the full experience.

This album just drips honesty and passion: there is nothing incredibly subtle about the way the quartet approach the music, it is just heads down and loads of riffs and meet you all at the end. That they drop Sabbath-style doom riffs into the songs just makes me smile as it all makes so much sense, there is nothing corny or contrived about this as it is just how the music moves and grooves. I keep finding myself closing my eyes while listening to this album as I am transported back in time. I know many people seem to disparage the Seventies now, but I was 11 in 1974, the year I discovered Sabbath and Ted Nugent, having already become a fan of bands like Slade and The Sweet, soon moving into Deep Purple, Jethro Tull, Genesis and so many other bands. I loved the music and styles of the Seventies, and so do these guys. If you want good old-fashioned honest music refusing to pander to any current trends then this is it.

Rating: 6/10


1. Bread & Circus
2. Hands Up
3. Who’s Fighting Who
4. Be Crucified
5. Where Have They Gone
6. It’s Near
7. You Better Watch Out
8. Fooled by Love
9. Last Chance
10. I Want My Money Back
11. Make Up Your Mind



Sharing is Caring

Related posts