Misha Piatigorsky Trio: Stained Glass and Technicolor Grooves (2018)

Written by: Kev Rowland

The original idea behind this came from drummer Sam Fishman, who had a goal of bringing a New York City jazz club experience to his hometown of Glen Rock in New Jersey. He asked pianist Piatigorsky to collaborate with him, and also brought in his long-time friend bassist Charlie Dougherty and asked his brother Jeremy Fishman to provide saxophone on a couple of the numbers. Recorded live at the beginning of 2017, it is hard to imagine that this is the first time that the guys had actually played together. Piatigorsky is an incredible pianist, with one of those strange brains that allow the left hand and right to totally disconnect from each other so that although they can play in unison when needed, they can also be playing against each other so that it seems as if there are two musicians sat on the same stool. Fishman and Dougherty do exactly what they are supposed to do, provide the exact right accompaniment for the music, even if that means sitting back and letting Misha have some bars all on his own. At others they are driving him along, asking him as many questions as he does of them.

I totally lost myself in this the very first time I played it, and it has soon become a favourite of mine to have on late at night, when the world is dark and still (it is winter down here after all), allowing the music to take me away to another place altogether. Although the new album by McClenty Hunter is one I have enjoyed a great deal, this is on a whole new level, and is essential for anyone who enjoys a piano-led trio working at the very highest level.

Rating: 9/10


Track list:
1. Where’s The Sun?
2. Nachlaot
3. Superhero
4. Close Your Eyes
5. Pure Imagination
6. Moten Swing
7. Afro Blue
8. Inside Straight
9. Misha’s Mood
10. I Wish I Knew How It Feels To Be Free



Sharing is Caring

Related posts