Infrared: Saviours (2018)

Written by: Kev Rowland

Ontario thrash band Infrared formed in 1985, but five years later with just one demo to their name, the band called it a day. But, in 2014 three of the original members Alain Groulx (drums, backing vocals), Armin Kamal (vocals, guitar) and Kirk Gidley (guitar, backing vocals) got together with bassist Mike Forbes to resurrect the band. In 2016 they released an album of newly recorded songs from their original period, ‘No Peace’, and now in 2018 they are back with an album of all new material. Due to their history they have very similar influences to the original thrash bands, as opposed to having been influenced directly by the Big Four, and they feel the bands that had the most impact on them are actually Accept, Scorpions, Black Sabbath, Iron Maiden, and Judas Priest. Certainly, although there are a lot of thrash elements in what they do, there is also plenty of power metal, and they have more in common with the Eighties scene than what followed later: one can imagine the band sitting well on the Metal Massacre compilations from that period.

There are times when they are very good at what they do, and there is no doubt that the guys all lock in well together, but some of the songs just don’t work as well as they should, and no soloing can take away from the fact that the backing vocals on the title track are just naff. Apparently they had a major impact on the metal scene in Canada the first time around, but I doubt whether this release will have the same effect.

Rating: 6/10


Track list:
1. Project Karma
2. The Demagogue
3. Saviour
4. The Fallen
5. All in Favour
6. They Kill for Gods
7. Father of Lies
8. Genocide Convention



Sharing is Caring

Related posts