Little Caesar: Eight (2018)

Written by: Roger Penkethman

When I saw this album listed I just had to grab it and give my thoughts, even though it has been out for two months now. As I remember owning their debut album and Influence their second, not sure what happened as I don’t have them now (soon to be rectified) and I’ve heard several of the albums from this band and enjoyed them all. Their past albums have featured a soulful, blues based heavy rock style and it’s good to hear they stick with that same trusted formula on this album.

The album kicks off with in awesome style with a storming two-some, 21 Again has a very infectious toe-tapping groove to it, then it carries on with an absolute storming cover of one of my favourite country songs, Merle Haggard’s – Mama Tried. Bravo
The third song Vegas is also a cracking track and carries on with the toe-tapping groove. Would have also worked, very well as the opening track.

Next two tracks, carry on with the same no fluff honest rock n roll.

Time Enough For That slows the tempo down for a nice smokey ballad, with a great message about relishing the good things in life.

Straight Shooter bumps the tempo back up, with a no nonsense ballsy rocking riff.
The rest of the album plays out with a mix of bluesy, soulful, rock-driven tracks played with confidence by some very talented musicians.

So if you’re after some new bluesy, stripped down, honest rock n roll, get yourself a copy of this album, I know I will be, along with their other offerings.

Rating: 8/10


Track list:
1. 21 Again
2. Mama Tried
3. Vegas
4. Crushed Velvet
5. Good Times
6. Time Enough for That
7. Straight Shooter
8. Another Fine Mess
9. Morning
10. That’s Alright



Sharing is Caring

Related posts