Martin Bisi release “BC35”

“Bisi… the man who contributed to the sound of early hip-hop, avant-garde, and indie rock, might soon finally get recognition. “
– Newsweek

“A glance at his stunning, across-the-genre-board discography results in minds blown.”
– Noisey

Martin Bisi and Italian label Bronson Recordings present the April 20th release of BC35, an album paying tribute to the 35th anniversary of BC Studio, and serving as a unique document of the New York City underground.

Martin Bisi – producer, engineer, musician, and central figure in New York City’s musical history of the past four decades.

BC Studio – the Brooklyn studio Bisi founded in 1979 with friends Brian Eno and Bill Laswell, and still owns and operates to this day. A cavernous space located in an industrial building near Brooklyn’s Gowanus Canal, the studio’s idiosyncrasies are undeniably responsible in part for the sounds created there.

At BC Studio, Bisi has personally recorded landmark music by Sonic Youth, Swans, Unsane, Afrika Bambaataa, Herbie Hancock, John Zorn, and so many more. Bisi’s name is synonymous with the New York City underground. Disparate sounds – from hip-hop to noise-rock to the far reaches of the avant-garde – have added up to a logical whole under the umbrella of BC Studio. Something highlighted in the 2014 documentary film, “Sound and Chaos: The Story of BC Studio”, chronicling Bisi’s life and career as a pillar of underground music in New York City and beyond.

The new album BC35 chronicles a weekend of performances, recorded live at BC Studio in January 2016 as a celebration of the studio’s 35th anniversary. Consisting of improvised pieces, as well as songs written exclusively for the occasion, the performances comprise an absolute who’s-who of BC Studio alumni – roughly 50 participants, including current and former members of Sonic Youth, Swans, White Hills, Foetus, Cop Shoot Cop, Live Skull, Pop 1280, Violent Femmes, The Dresden Dolls, Alice Donut, Lubricated Goat, and more. Bisi himself played guitar on three of the improvised pieces.

The first pressing of 500 LPs include 150 gold colour vinyl copies. All LPs come packaged with an additional 7″ vinyl containing the final two tracks of the thirteen tracks listed. A number of videos are also scheduled for release, the first being the New Old Skull collab “Details Of Madness” which can found HERE

Track list:
1. Nowhere Near The Rainbow
2. Denton’s Dive
3. Details Of The Madness
4. What A Jerk
5. Humash Wealth Management, Inc.
6. Downhill
7. The Animals Speak Truth
8. His Word Against Mine
10. End Of The Line
11. Take This Ride
12. Disintegration In The Well
13. Soft Glitter Cosmos Needs A Pig War

For more information:

Sharing is Caring

Related posts